Gabor Mezo


D.Sc., research professor,
Széchenyi István fellow
Head of the Research Group of Peptide Chemistry

Mail address:
Department of Organic Chemistry, Eötvös L. University,
Budapest 112, Pf. 32. 1518
E-mail: gmezo at
Tel: +36-1-372-2500/1426
Fax: +36-1-372-2620

Research Interests:

Synthesis of peptides, cyclic peptides, peptide conjugates, chimeric peptides;
Synthesis of carrier molecules (polymer polypeptides, sequential oligopeptides);
Preparation of synthetic vaccines (antigens): Herpes simplex virus;
Synthesis GnRH derivatives and study of antitumor activity;
Preparation of bioconjugates consisting of target and drug molecules.


My publications according to the Collection of the Hungarian Scientific Work (MTMT): link


1979-1981: Kossuth Lajos University (Debrecen), chemistry
1981-1984: Eötvös Loránd University (Budapest), chemistry
1984: Diplome in chemistry
1984-1987: Ph.D. student
1990: Ph.D.
2000: D.Sc.


1983: 3rd Prize in Student scientific competition
1996: Prize of Kisfaludy Lajos Foundation
1998: Bolyai János Fellowship
1999: Széchenyi Professorship
2012: Győző Bruckner Award

Training, education experience:

Organic chemistry (undergraduate students);
Synthesis of peptides with biological activity (undergraduate students);
Synthesis of cyclic peptides and peptide conjugates (PhD course);
Laboratory practice in organic and peptide chemistry (undergraduate students).

Supervising of prize winner students (Student scientific competition):

Ildikó Nagy (3rd Prize, 1995),
Zsolt Skribanek (2nd Prize, 1997),
Nikolett Mihala (1st Prize, 1999),
Annamária Jakab (2nd Prize, 2000),
Gitta Schlosser (3rd Prize, 2001),
Zoltán Bánóczi (2nd Prize, 2003),
Ildikó Szabó (1st Prize, 2005),
Kata Nóra Enyedi (3rd Prize, 2010)
Krisztina Kiss (3rd Prize, 2015; 3rd Prize, 2017)
Afrodité Emese Adorján (3rd Prize, 2016)

Supervising of PhD students:

Annamária Jakab (PhD, 2009),
Ildikó Szabó (PhD, 2009),
Katalin Boglárka Bai (PhD, 2009),
Bernadett Bacsa (PhD, 2010),
Bence Kapuvári (2006-),
Rózsa Hegedüs (PhD 2015),
Kata Nóra Enyedi (PhD 2018),
Lilla Pethő Lilla (PhD 2020)
Sabine Schuster (PhD 2020)
Andrea Angelo Pierluigi Tripodi (PhD 2021)

Grants as principal investigator (selected):

Horizon 2020 (MAGIC BULLET; MSCA-ITN-2014-ETN: Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Networks (ITN-ETN) Grant Agreement number: 642004)

NKFIH K_16 119552 (2016-2020): Development of bioconjugates for targeted tumor therapy of cancer types leading to high mortality

NVKP_16-1-2016-0036 (2017-2019): Development of bioconjugates and their modules suitable for targeted therapy of tumours causing high mortality.

Horizon 2020 (MAGIC BULLET Reloaded; MSCA-ITN-2019-ETN: Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Networks (ITN-ETN) Grant Agreement number: 861316)